



## Minutes of a Meeting of the **Full Council** held in the Deben Conference Room, East Suffolk House, on **Wednesday, 8 March 2023** at **2:00 pm**

### Members present:

Councillor David Beavan, Councillor Stuart Bird, Councillor Chris Blundell, Councillor Peter Byatt, Councillor Alison Cackett, Councillor Maurice Cook, Councillor Linda Coulam, Councillor Janet Craig, Councillor Tom Daly, Councillor Mike Deacon, Councillor John Fisher, Councillor Steve Gallant, Councillor Andree Gee, Councillor Ray Herring, Councillor Mark Jepson, Councillor Richard Kerry, Councillor Geoff Lynch, Councillor Debbie McCallum, Councillor Keith Patience, Councillor Carol Poulter, Councillor Russ Rainger, Councillor Craig Rivett, Councillor Keith Robinson, Councillor Steve Wiles

**Officers present:** Chris Bally (Chief Executive), Chris Bing (Head of Legal and Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer), Sarah Davis (Democratic Services Officer), Matt Makin (Democratic Services Officer), Brian Mew (Chief Finance Officer and Section 151 Officer), Lorraine Rogers (Deputy Chief Finance Officer), Agnes Ogundiran (Political Group Support Officer) and Nicola Wotton (Deputy Democratic Services Manager).

#### 1 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Paul Ashdown, Ed Back, Stephen Burroughes, Jenny Ceresa, Judy Cloke, Tony Cooper, Tony Fryatt, Tess Gandy, Tony Goldson, Louise Gooch, Tracey Green, Colin Hedgley, James Mallinder, Frank Mortimer, Trish Mortimer, Mark Newton, Malcolm Pitchers, Sarah Plummer, Michael Richardson, Mary Rudd, Letitia Smith, Rachel Smith-Lyte, Ed Thompson, Caroline Topping and Kay Yule.

#### 2 Declarations of Interest

There were no Declarations of Interest.

#### 3 Amended Council Tax Resolutions 2023/24

Full Council received report **ES/1502** by Councillor Cook, Cabinet Member with responsibility for Resources. He stated that on 22 February 2023, Full Council had approved a balanced budget and set the Band D rate of Council Tax for 2023/24. The report considered at that meeting had set out the 2023/24 Council Tax Resolutions (Appendix E) which was unanimously agreed by Full Council.

After the report had been approved by Full Council, an administrative error was identified in the Council Tax Resolutions, which showed the incorrect aggregate Council Tax amounts by Parish for each category of dwelling (Council Tax Banding). This information was presented in Appendix E2 of the Budget Report. The remainder of Appendix E was correct.

Councillor Cook stated that this report **ES/1502**, required approval of the amended Council Tax Resolutions for 2023/24, ahead of the publication of the statutory notice for the amounts of Council Tax for 2023/24. He confirmed that the correction required was presentational only.

As there were no questions, Councillor Cook moved the recommendation within the report and this was seconded by Councillor Gallant, who reserved his right to speak.

There being no debate, Councillor Gallant thanked those Councillors for their attendance at this meeting. He commented that mistakes do happen, however, this matter had been dealt with swiftly, once it had been identified.

N.B. Councillor Tom Daly arrived at this point in the proceedings. As he had not been in attendance when the report was presented, he took no part in the voting thereon.

The Vice Chairman invited Mr Bing, Monitoring Officer, to undertake the Recorded Vote for this item. The results of the Recorded Vote are shown below:

#### For the recommendation:

Councillors David Beavan, Stuart Bird, Chris Blundell, Peter Byatt, Alison Cackett, Maurice Cook, Linda Coulam, Janet Craig, Mike Deacon, John Fisher, Steve Gallant, Andree Gee, Ray Herring, Mark Jepson, Richard Kerry, Geoff Lynch, Debbie McCallum, Keith Patience, Carol Poulter, Russ Rainger, Craig Rivett, Keith Robinson and Steve Wiles.

#### Against the recommendation:

None.

# Abstentions:

None.

#### RESOLVED

That the amended information presented as 'Appendix E2' included at Appendix A to this report be approved.

The meeting concluded at 2.12 pm

.....

Chairman